$ website.include(?login?)

History and Purpose

The Division III Commissioners Association official became a stand-alone organization in January,1992, after a very friendly separation from the Division II Commissioners Association. Pat Damore, commissioner of the SUNYAC, was the president of the Association at the time of the split. Jack Swartz, commissioner of the Collegiate Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin, became the second president of the new separate association.

The focal point of the Division III Commissioners Association is for the membership to learn together and share with each other. Division III commissioners are unique in what they do and need each other in order to grow.

In order to achieve this goal, the Association works closely with affiliated organizations such as the NCAA, NACDA, NADIIIAA, NACWAA, and the Division III Independents as well. The blending of those groups creates a national synergy that allows all memberships to work in concert to improve communications and ultimately, service student-athletes.


D3CA Presidents
2019, 2020 - Joe Onderko, Presidents' Athletic Conference
2017, 2018 - Chuck Yrigoyen, Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
2015, 2016 - Dan McKane, Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
2013, 2014 - Julie Muller, North Atlantic Conference
2012, 2011 - Chuck Mitrano, Empire 8
2010 - Steve Larson, Northern Athletics Conference
2009 - Chris Martin, Collegiate Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin
2008 - Brad Bankston, Old Dominion Athletic Conference
2006, 2007 - Donna Ledwin, Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference
2004, 2005 - Tim Gleason, Ohio Athletic Conference
2002, 2003 - Steve Argo, Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference
2000, 2001 - Steve Ulrich, Centennial Conference
1998, 1999 - Sheila Kovalchik, Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association
1996, 1997 - Dick Rasmussen, Univeristy Athletic Association
1994, 1995 - Dennis Collins, North Coast Athletic Conference
1993 - Jack Swartz, Collegiate Conference of Illinois and Wisconisn
1992 - Pat Damore, SUNY Athletic Conference